Gratitude List

by roaringdog

20130207-204743.jpg

I so want the last thought for today to be a grateful one. Every couple of weeks I have to remove myself from the often creative work of our shops to make a blood sacrifice at the alter of Quickbooks. This is the dark side of small business… taxes… insurance… payroll… purchasing… inventory… cash flow. Carolyn calls this part of the job ‘soul-sucking’…a perfect description.

Last Sunday our son Ben and his girl Erin (who is also part of Team Roaring Dog) came for an early dinner. I caught this picture of them from our living room window strolling back from a visit with the geese and ducks at the pond’s edge. The dogs were very happy to see them and we had another of our many Sunday dinners together.

I am grateful for moments like this and truth be told my life is filled with an overabundance of them. I need to make a gratitude list in my mind…maybe even on paper…a persistent reminder to keep the dark side at arms length.

I so want the last thought for today to be a grateful one…